My Photography in Review

As a photographer, I learned many things. I always took photos because the scene looked nice, after this unit in media arts I realized that I can set up photos to create other scenes that evoke the emotion I want it to in the viewer. I came a long way from when I began because I treated photography as a way to remember experiences or just for fun but now I have a new appreciation for photography. I view it as a great art that allows to people to express themselves just like any other form of art. People think that photography is just looking at something that looks nice and just capturing it. It is much more difficult then that, you have to have an idea of what you want to capture before you go out looking for it or else you could spend hours and not have a photo because you don’t know what you need.

I enjoyed using the photo editing tools given to us. It makes you feel so powerful just to be able to basically do anything you want to. You can make photos appear to be something completely different then what it actually was when you took it. Instagram allows you to add filters and edit photos very simply, although it has gotten more advanced it still isn’t advanced as if you were to use an editing program like Lightroom. Photoshop is so much fun to use, you can make photos so different. I usually don’t edit my Instagram photos but after being able to use Lightroom and Photoshop I might just fix photos there because it adds another dimension to your photos. It takes a great photo to an even better photo and elevates your abilities.

beautyandthebeast

One of my artworks

I feel that a big difficulty to using Photoshop is actually taking that first step to get the program but once you get it you will encounter many problems if you don’t know how to use it. It is quite confusing to use because there are many things that don’t make sense like tools that you’ve never seen. But getting past that it was very easy to use because you are so comfortable doing what you enjoy. One of the things I will consider next time using Photoshop is to be more creative. I started using it very recently and I feel that I am pretty good at it but I need to unlock who I truly am to create work that reflects me personally. I can create wonderful works but I feel that they could be better if they came from the heart and reflect me, like the Beauty and the Beast art. I am very proud of that because Disney is something that is very personal to me and I came up with out of pure imagination. I feel that one of the most rewarding things about using Photoshop is the end result and seeing your hard work actually pay off and become a masterpiece that you can call your own. You will know that you created that work and you can be proud of the effort you put into it was worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

